2015-12-13 NTCU confers honorary degree on Myanmar’s Aung San Suu Kyi

NTCU confers honorary degree on Myanmar’s Aung San Suu Kyi
Former NCTU President Wu Yan-hwa (left) and Aung San Suu Kyi. (Photo courtesy of NCTU)

Taipei, Dec. 13 (CNA) National Chiao Tung University (NCTU) said Sunday that it has conferred an honorary doctorate degree in law on Aung San Suu Kyi for her pursuit of democracy in Myanmar.


“It is a great honor for NCTU to present an honorary doctorate degree to one of the greatest politicians in the world,” the university said in a statement, adding that it is the first honorary doctorate degree Suu Kyi has received since her release from house arrest in 2010.


Former NCTU President Wu Yan-hwa (吳妍華), who traveled to Myanmar to present the degree to Suu Kyi on Saturday, said the politician is a role model for the university’s faculty and students because of her pursuit of freedom, democracy and human rights.


Suu Kyi said she was happy that the university awarded her a degree in law, an area she cares about, since only rule of law can bring peace to a country.


She said her party, the National League for Democracy (NLD), gave top priority to “rule of law” in its election manifesto so that people in Myanmar who see law as an instrument to suppress uprising and to enhance the government’s power can understand that “law is about bringing harmony and peace to a society.”


Suu Kyi, who won the Nobel Peace Prize in 1991 when she was placed under house arrest, led the NLD to a landslide victory in the Nov. 8 elections, winning enough seats in both houses of the parliament to form the next government.


She was invited by Ovid Tzeng (曾志朗), chancellor of the University System of Taiwan who traveled with Wu to present the degree, to visit Taiwan for the Sayling Wen Academic Lecture Series and share her experience in pursuing freedom and democracy.


The University System of Taiwan is a four-university alliance comprising NCTU, National Tsing Hua University, National Central University and National Yang-ming University. 


(By Kuan Jui-ping and Kay Liu)